History of T20I World Cup (2007-22): List of All Winners

History of T20I World Cup

The first-ever T20I World Cup was held in South Africa in 2007 which India won. The latest season was played a couple of years ago in Australia which the England team won. We will be witnessing the ninth edition of this tournament this year. This International Cricket Council (ICC) event will be co-hosted by the United States of America and the West Indies. 

Since the inaugural season in 2007, It’s been over 17 years and we have witnessed 8 editions. All these years and seasons contain many precious memorable moments and stories of triumph. From the list of winners to the top individual performers, we will be taking a quick glimpse over the history of T20I World Cup here in this article.

History of T20I World Cup

List of Winners

Here is the list of past winners and hosting countries:

2021AustraliaOman & UAE
2016West IndiesIndia
2014Sri LankaBangladesh
2012West IndiesSri Lanka
2010EnglandWest Indies
2007IndiaSouth Africa

Most Successful Teams

West Indies and England with two titles each are the most successful teams in the history of T20I World Cup. In 2012, West Indies won their first cup while four years later in 2016 they lifted the trophy for the second time. On the other hand, England won this tournament first in 2010 and the second time they lifted this trophy was recently in 2022. All the other teams in the list have won this cup only once.

TeamNo. of times Champion
West Indies2
Sri Lanka1

Best Performing Individual Players

From the inaugural season in 2007 to the latest in 2022, here are the top individual performers in each edition:

YearPlayer of the SeriesLeading-Run ScorerLeading-Wicket Taker
2022Sam CurranVirat KohliWanindu Hasaranga
2021David WarnerBabar AzamWanindu Hasaranga
2016Virat KohliTamim IqbalMohammad Nabi
2014Virat KohliVirat KohliAhsan Malik and Imran Tahir
2012Shane WatsonShane WatsonAjantha Mendis
2010Kevin PietersenMahela JayawardeneDirk Nannes
2009Tillakaratne DilshanTillakaratne DilshanUmar Gul
2007Shahid AfridiMatthew HaydenUmar Gul

T20 World Cup 2024

The Men’s T20I World Cup 2024 will start on 1 June 2024. We will witness a total of 55 matches during this 29-day-long ICC event. Here is the overview of the tournament:

Hosting CountriesUSA and West Indies
AdministratorInternational Cricket Council
Dates1-29 June 2024
Official WebsiteT20 World Cup

The first match is scheduled to be played at the Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas between the USA and Canada while the final will be played on June 29. You can check the complete schedule here: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Complete Schedule.

Which Teams Have Qualified?

In the previous edition, 16 teams had participated in the tournament while this year this number has increased. A total of 20 teams are going to participate this year in the T20I World Cup. These 20 teams have been divided into four groups, each consisting of five participants. Here are the teams that have been qualified and their respective groups:

Group AIndia, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA
Group BEngland, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman
Group CNew Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea
Group DSouth Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

These teams will clash with each other till 17 June. Thereafter the top two teams from each group will reach the Super Eight phase which will begin from June 19. Results in this phase will decide which teams will play the knockouts which are scheduled from June 26-29.

ALSO READ: India’s Predicted Squad For The T20I World Cup 2024