Top 20 Batsmen With Most Runs In The T20 World Cup

Most Runs In The T20 World Cup

In June 2024, we are going to witness the 9th edition of the Men’s T20 World Cup. This ICC event was first played in 2007, and since then we have seen many incredible matches and great knocks from individual players. Here in this article, we are going to take a look at the list of batsmen with the most runs in the T20 World Cup.

Most Runs In The T20 World Cup

Most Runs In The T20 World Cup

From the Indian batsman Virat Kohli to the former English captain Eoin Morgan, here are the top 20 batters with the most runs in the T20 World Cup:

V Kohli (IND)2012-2022271141
DPMD Jayawardene (SL)2007-2014311016
CH Gayle (WI)2007-202133965
RG Sharma (IND)2007-202239963
TM Dilshan (SL)2007-201635897
DA Warner (AUS)2009-202234806
JC Buttler (ENG)2012-202227799
Shakib Al Hasan (BAN)2007-202236742
AB de Villiers (SA)2007-201630717
KS Williamson (NZ)2012-202225699
KC Sangakkara (SL)2007-201431661
Shoaib Malik (PAK)2007-202134646
BB McCullum (NZ)2007-201425637
MJ Guptill (NZ)2009-202128617
Yuvraj Singh (IND)2007-201631593
KP Pietersen (ENG)2007-201015580
AD Hales (ENG)2012-202220568
JP Duminy (SA)2007-201625568
LRPL Taylor (NZ)2007-201628562
EJG Morgan (ENG)2009-202129552

If we look at the top 5, we can see the clear dominance of Asian cricketers. At the number position is the Indian Cricketer Virat Kohli who participated in this ICC event for the first time in 2012 and so far has scored 1141 runs in 27 matches. 

Another Indian in the top 5 is the current captain Rohit Sharma who has been playing this tournament since its inauguration in 2007. He has played 39 matches so far and scored 963 runs. 

At the second and fifth positions are two former cricketers from Sri Lanka, Mahela Jayawardene and Tillakaratne Dilshan. Jayawardene has made 1016 runs in 31 matches while Dilhshan has scored 897 runs in 35 matches.

The only non-Asian player in the top 5 is the Universal player Chris Gayle seated at number 3 position. Representing the most successful team, West Indies, he has scored 965 runs in 33 matches. Out of these five 5 players, only Virat and Rohit will participate in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024.

T20 World Cup 2024

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will begin on June 1 with the USA vs Canada match at the Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas. This 29-day-long tournament will be co-hosted by the USA and West Indies. Here is the overview of the tournament:

Hosting CountriesUSA and West Indies
AdministratorInternational Cricket Council
Dates1-29 June 2024

A total of 20 teams will be participating in the tournament including the USA and West Indies who were automatically selected for being the hosts. These 20 teams have been divided into four groups, here you can see the list of these teams group-wise:

Group A

  – India

  – Pakistan

  – Ireland

  – Canada

  – USA

Group B

  – England

  – Australia

  – Namibia

  – Scotland

  – Oman

Group C

  – New Zealand

  – West Indies

  – Afghanistan

  – Uganda

  – Papua New Guinea

Group D

  – South Africa

  – Sri Lanka

  – Bangladesh

  – Netherlands

  – Nepal

The top two teams from each of these groups will ascend to the Super 8 phase. After the Super 8, the top-performing teams will further enter the knockouts where we will get to see the next champion.

This event will consist of 55 matches that will be played across the 9 venues situated in the USA and West Indies. You can visit their official website for more information: T20 World Cup.

ALSO READ: Daren Sammy Cricket Stadium To Host T20 World Cup 2024